My NaNoWriMo novel

So we are in November, and for me that means two things.

  • Thanksgiving (in America)
  • NaNoWriMo

In the past two years, I also participated in NaNoWriMo, but didn’t win because life was too busy and I am quite poor when it comes to time management. FYI, by the way, if you don’t know what the heck NaNoWriMo is, it’s an acronym for National Novel Writing Month. You have to write a fifty thousand word–or more–novel in a month (the regular version of NaNoWriMo requires fifty thousand words or above, but the YWP NaNoWriMo, the junior version for kids up to seventeen years allows you to set your own word count).

Due to the hectic ways of life again, I am not participating in NaBloPoMo, in which you post every day in November–it was invented by BlogHer for people who like the idea of NaNoWriMo but don’t want to write a novel. I don’t have time to go on the computer and publish a post, nor do I have time to schedule posts for every day. I won’t be blogging my NaNoWriMo novel either for the same reasons, but I will try to put my novel on Figment or Wattpad or FictionPress.

And if you’re wondering what my novel is going to be about, here it is. It’s an allegory for Islamophobia–the notion that Muslims are terrorists like bin Laden–and some feminist groups that are Islamophobic (and therefore do not support all women, despite what they claim). It’s going to be kinda like George Orwell’s novel Animal Farm, but my novel will end with what I think should happen to Islamophobia, not what has already happened. Because this whole Islamophobia thing is unresolved, so I’d have to put a sad ending like George Orwell did, and I hate sad endings.

If I do finish my novel, I’ll make a graphic version of it. There are some people who choose to do NaNoGraphicMo, which I really think should be NaGraNoWriMo, which is writing and drawing a graphic novel in a month. However, I think I will make a regular novel first and then a graphic version of it so people can enjoy both.

sigsignature

3 thoughts on “My NaNoWriMo novel

  1. Your novel sounds amazing, I’d love to read bits of it. I’m not doing NaNoWriMo this year either, because it’s so time consuming and first year of GCSE’s doesn’t make it easy…also a graphic version sounds awesome 😀

    Like

Before commenting, see the comment guidelines below.

