Daily Prompt: Three Coins in the Fountain (The Daily Post)

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Three Coins in the Fountain.”

I actually haven’t thrown a coin in the fountain and made a wish. Well, I have thrown a penny in a fountain when I was little; the neighborhood had a big white fountain set behind the villa-gate entrance. But the penny was for good luck in not really anything in particular. After that, I stopped throwing coins in fountains because, while nostalgic, throwing coins in fountains, frankly, was a waste of money for me.

I don’t remember if good luck showed up after I threw that penny in the fountain. I don’t think I really needed good luck during that time; I was living a good, uneventful life.

Those were the good times. But then my brother was born. Soon after he was born, my parents started noticing these white ash patches on his skin in random places. “Ate, look!” they said. “Look at those white patches on his skin.” (Ate means big sister in Tagalog. Do not pronounce it like “I ate my lunch”. The a sound is a short a, and the e sound is a short e.)

My parents and brother consulted the doctor. The doctor said he hoped he was mistaken, but if he wasn’t, then my brother had a very rare condition called Tuberous Sclerosis. If that was true, we had to expect seizures (which explained why my brother looked like he was preparing for a wrestle at random times), and accept that he had tuber-like growths in his brain, which would prevent him from developing like his peers.

Because this condition is so rare, my family went broke on medicine and therapy and surgery. We weren’t homeless and we could still afford food, but we reached the point where my godfather uncle had to give us some money. So we couldn’t afford to throw pennies in the fountain. As for me, I was still young, and I knew about his condition, but I was so young I wasn’t that devastated. I still loved him, and I was still his Ate. I liked to take care of him, and I actually thought it was better for my brother to have his condition because we’d be closer as siblings. And he’d actually be happy. So maybe the penny I threw in the fountain so long ago brought a curse, but if you knew how to approach the curse right, there would be a blessing.

That doesn’t mean I don’t pray for him anymore for him to get better.When I was in the Philippines, I went to Las Piñas, the city where a church containing a really old but playable bamboo pipe organ is located. When you leave the church, it is traditional to make three wishes at the door.

  1. I wish I won’t have any cavities when I go to the dentist after I go back to America. This came true. I am terrified of cavities and have never had one so far.
  2. I wish my brother would get better.
  3. I wish for something that is of a very, very personal matter, and so I won’t post it on the Imagination Igloo.
image
The bamboo organ at St. Joseph’s Parish church in Las Piñas. I must admit that the keyboard is very small. Five octaves only???

sigsignature

P.S. I always thought of collecting all the pennies I find in different fountains. But I’m not allowed to step in the fountain.

Before commenting, see the comment guidelines below.

