One of my pet peeves

It’s when people don’t capitalize the G in God. Get ready for a long rant.

Look, I’m not trying to say that we must all believe in God (although a belief in God sure is nice, frankly). I’m not trying to force you to start worshipping God. I get that you might be an atheist, agnostic, or someone of another religion that doesn’t believe in God. I respect your beliefs. But seriously, do you write god when you mean God, like this?

The wackiest example I’ve seen of this idea [women having to be moms] lately is this movement of religious women who call themselves Quiverfull Mothers (like keeping your “quiver” full of babies–ick) and think that women should have many kids as they can in order to build an army for god.  And (naturally), they think that women should be submissive, and that “women’s attempts to control their own bodies–the Lord’s temple–are a seizure of divine power.” So essentially, your body isn’t your own; it’s god’s.

Full Frontal Feminism: A Young Woman’s Guide to Why Feminism Matters by Jessica Valenti

In this context, Valenti’s referring to god as the deity Christians, Jews, and Muslims worship. Don’t get me wrong. I’m a feminist too, and I don’t agree with the Quiverfull Mothers, but I’m also a Catholic. You might ask how one can be both, seeing as the conservative Church opposes gay marriage and abortion, while feminism is usually very, very liberal. I’m kinda leaning towards the late Pope John Paul II’s new feminism idea, promoting complementarity but not discrimination of the genders. More on that later. Anyways, I’ll be blunt: I was offended by the usage of god. Geez. Even if you don’t believe in God, at least show some respect towards others who do!

In addition, God is a proper noun. For example, a long time ago, people worshipped Egyptian gods and goddess Anubis, Thoth, or Hathor, respectively. Since then, belief in those deities has fallen out. But we still capitalize them! It’s not because we believe in them; it’s because they’re names, and names are proper nouns.

Many people would say a post about how offensive this usage of God is unnecessary. I suppose it is. I guess I’m really steamed after finishing Full Frontal Feminism, because while it brings up legitimate points, at times, it does feel very laced with horseradish-biting causticness. I’m sorry, guys, if you didn’t know that you should capitalize God when you refer to that God in the Bible. I’d advise you, though, to edit your work so that God is capitalized.

sigsignature

2 thoughts on “One of my pet peeves

    1. I’d like for people to capitalize God’s pronouns, but I’m not really sure if I get annoyed. A lot of people don’t know that they should capitalize His and He and all that when referring to God. The reason I get annoyed when they don’t capitalize the G in God is that pretty much everyone knows whom they’re referring to.

      Like

Before commenting, see the comment guidelines below.

