The Book Blogger Confessions tag

I’m not actually an official book blogger, but I thought I’d have a go at it after seeing Emma do it at her blog bluchickenninja.

Which book, most recently, did you not finish? A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. His writing style is so rich and detailed I can hardly keep up with the plot. Also the first Twilight book, which is satisfactory, but I don’t agree with the message that you need a boyfriend to have a decent life.

Which book is your guilty pleasure? I actually like Legally Blonde very much, by Amanda Brown. It’s actually not a movie novelization–it’s the other way around. The book inspired the musical and then the movie starring Reese Witherspoon. My family said, don’t read it, you’ve already watched the movie; the book is probably bad. As I read the book, I started to warm up to it. There are a few things, however, that I’m not quite on terms with. The writing style was a bit too giggly for me. I wouldn’t really agree with Elle Woods going to Stanford law school–to get her boyfriend back and then finally in the end, when he sees the error of his ways, she rejects him. He wasn’t worth getting back, in my opinion, but then again, if Elle didn’t go to law school, there would be no book. Overall, I enjoyed it very much.

Which book do you love to hate? I don’t really like to hate stuff anymore. Nowadays I find hate too strong. I’m developing more and more into a Hufflepuff now (by the way, Hufflepuffs ARE NOT WEAK; we’ve got Newt, Tonks, Cedric, and James and Oliver Phelps who played Fred and George in the movies).

Which book would you throw into the sea? One book I would want to eliminate is The Double Helix. See “Which book made you the angriest?” However, I would not throw it into the sea because that is bad for the animals.

Which book have you read the most? How to Multiply Your Baby’s Intelligence. By Glenn Doman. The title says all–how you can multiply your baby’s intelligence. Now, I am not a mom, but I found the book around in my house one day. My mom said my aunt gave it to us. The book teaches that babies have an enormous amount of potential and it is wise to use it as soon as possible. You can teach your baby to read (I was taught to read as a baby too) chapter books, to multiply and add and use the quadratic formula (you have to use dots and not numerals, though), to play the violin, to speak seventeen languages, etc., etc. I thought this book was fascinating.

Which book would you hate to receive as a present? Any book by an author who is a topic of controversy and has done mean things to others. But I wouldn’t use the word hate.

Which book could you not live without? The Harry Potter series, which is a set of books. Not one book in particular, though.

Which book made you the angriest? First off, The Double Helix by James Watson. It’s about how he and Francis Crick “discovered” the structure of DNA. It was actually Rosalind Franklin who did most of the work with her famous Photo 51! And basically, Watson stole the credit that was rightfully hers. Unfortunately, she did not win the Nobel Prize for discovering DNA like Watson, Crick, and Maurice Wilkins did (though only three peeps can win it together). Even more unfortunate is that she couldn’t object to the way Watson inaccurately portrayed her as “Rosy” because she’d died already of ovarian cancer. Secondly–Genes, Girls, and Gamow: Life After the Double Helix, also by James Watson. I could follow both books fairly easily because I know about DNA, how it replicates, how it’s involved in the creation of proteins that help our bodies function, and most of the stuff surrounding it. So that wasn’t the problem. What made me really mad about the second book was that it was supposed to be more about how Watson was finding out the role of RNA in relation to DNA and how it aids in protein synthesis (creation). However, it was more about James Watson’s dating life and his attempts with Linda and Christa and Sheila and all the others until he finally married a girl named Elizabeth. For example, James Watson is sad that he didn’t get a job at Harvard because his crush is there. Hence the word Girls in the title, but I think it was a bad choice to talk about dating life along with science life.

Which book cover do you hate the most? Why so much hate? Anyway, I don’t like the cover for Genes, Girls, and Gamow. It’s a picture of a young James Watson’s face, which is enlarged to occupy the huge area. It kinda creeps me out.

sigsignature

Before commenting, see the comment guidelines below.

