Here come the ambiverts!

I am an ambivert.

I’m not an introvert, nor am I an extrovert.

Lately, I’ve been seeing a lot of articles on introvert awareness and myths. And I do think that introverts need to be respected just as much as the extroverts. Introverts are cool. However, I’d really like to see more stuff on ambiverts–not everyone knows this word. I’ve always been confused by the quizzes. They’d either say I was an introvert or an extrovert. They’d never stick to one. And sometimes, there’d be times I’d be an introvert; the next time an extrovert, and a few times in between. ????

Well, I finally found that there is such a thing called an ambivert. Here are some examples of my ambiversion:

  • When I go to parties, especially big and loud ones, I have lots and lots of fun and socialize. However, there will come a point where I go to an empty room because I’m a bit tired but don’t want to leave the party yet, and it’s nice to listen to all the muffled background music.
  • People call me independent but know how to work in a group. I have my own flaws and quirks, and people can point me out.
  • I make friends through other friends. I’m not that good at making friends from scratch, if you know what I mean. Then we can all have a friend circle!
  • Like introverts, I don’t really specialize in small talk. “How are you, Professor Higgins? Are you quite well? But of course you are; you are never ill. Quite chilly this morning, isn’t it?” (From Pygmalion.) But I dabble in a little humor to lighten stuff, because I believe talks can’t always be so serious.

Which one are you, ambivert, introvert, or extrovert? Please comment! 😀

5 thoughts on “Here come the ambiverts!

Before commenting, see the comment guidelines below.

