Daily Prompt: Autumn Leaves (The Daily Post)

Autumn is on its way here in the Northern Hemisphere, and summer is closing doors. (Although we did experience a triple-digit heat wave quite recently where I live. Always happens in September. I think summer procrastinates and then when it–or she, I guess–realizes that autumn’s coming soon, she crams in the heat.) The leaves haven’t been changing to the golden hues yet, and it hasn’t really gotten colder, as I said before–it’s still hot, but I do look forward to autumn going into swing. Why? Because then it paves the way for winter. Do I love winter! It doesn’t snow in Southern California, but it still gets cold, and I love bundling up and eating hot soups and stews and music! (Winter also contains Christmas. That’s actually my favorite holiday; sorry to everyone that doesn’t celebrate Christmas!)

Wait, wait, wait. I was talking about autumn, wasn’t I? I’m a little bummed out that the weather will need getting used to, and that my allergies will also come into the picture now, but I am fascinated with the leaves turning golden-red–well, I know that the leaves are getting stripped of their green chlorophyll, however I do like the idea of getting rid of something in such a graceful manner. Pumpkins and apples and autumn fruits emerge, and I love the sweet aroma that candles and pies and Starbucks beverages bring whenever they’ve got pumpkin or apple.

Hurry up, autumn. It’s way too hot here.

Before commenting, see the comment guidelines below.

