Building a Blogging Habit: Day 3, Commit to a Writing Practice

WHO AIN’T AFRAID OF GHOSTS? I AIN’T AFRAID OF NO GHOSTS, according to the 80’s song “Ghostbusters”. If you haven’t heard it, it doesn’t actually sound that scary, even though it may remind you of ghosts. That’s what I love about the song; it will make you think of ghosts, but the mood isn’t very scary. I’m often afraid of the dark (babyish, yes, but a lot of people still have a piece of childhood in their hearts), and so whenever I need to go into a dark room, alone, I sing “Ghostbusters” so I can muster enough courage to turn on the light. I AIN’T AFRAID OF NO GHOSTS!!!

Next up is “You Can’t Stop the Beat” from Hairspray. It just has an upbeat rhythm and urges you to sing along.

Before we finish, I’ve been scurrying around the Commons of Writing 101 (Building a Blogging Habit; for those of you that aren’t familiar with blogging, it’s a writing challenge that my blogging platform, WordPress, hosted), and I’ve noticed that most people are talking about songs songs–they might be “Wrecking Ball” despite the inappropriate music video; it’s still a great song, “In Summer”, or “What Does the Fox Say” with its nonsensical lyrics.

How about a new kind of song?

Personally, there’s a song I like that has absolutely no words–well, not words that us humans can understand. It’s a song that doesn’t ever stop as long as the world doesn’t end. Listen to the rain and animal-speak, and you’ll know what I mean. We Southern Californians are being deprived of rain, and so I enjoy those moments when it rains really hard. As for animal-speak paired with rain, it’s a reminder that we humans haven’t gobbled up all the natural Alice-in-Wonderland world yet, and there’s still hope for us to change.

Before commenting, see the comment guidelines below.

