Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare (The Daily Post)

Everyone’s heard the classic saying: Honesty is the best policy. Unfortunately, that’s not always the case. You can be too honest, as with outspoken people like myself. 

One sunny December morning my friend and I were shopping at the mall. We were just looking around in one store that sold revealing clothing aimed at teen girls. In one of the aisles was a lone black short-sleeved shirt that, to me, could double as a sports bra, since it only covered half of the upper body. If someone put the shirt on, you could see his/her bellybutton. 

I was very naive and very childlike-honest, and very outspoken too as well as loudmouthed, so I said to my friend, “Look at this black shirt,” in my loud voice. “It says the word ‘twerk’.” (I knew very well what twerking was.)

I shouldn’t have said that out loud. Come to think of it, it must have been very embarrassing for my friend as well as the cashier if everyone had made a big fuss of what I’d said. But no one seemed to care. It would have been embarrassing for the cashier because someone could have reported this, for selling really inappropriate clothing. I do think it is wrong to sell inappropriate clothing, but it was an inappropriate time to march up to the cashier and stomp my fist on the counter and say, “Listen, selling this is WRONG. You set a bad example for the little girls in the whole world. How dare you.” It would have got us into a quicksand lawsuit and all.

Also, during the extermination of the Jews in World War II, if someone had to say, “Oh yes. We do have Jews hiding here. Come out, Jews” then honesty would have turned against the Jews, sending them to Auschwitz or Bergen-Belsen or Westerbork. I think that’s the case with poor Anne Frank. I believe the guy who looked after the Frank house after they escaped to the Secret Annex was responsible for getting them in trouble with the Nazis. He didn’t seem very nice at all.

Sometimes, just keeping your mouth shut is the best policy. 

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare (The Daily Post)

  1. I still suffer because of my “pathogenic honesty”, most of the time it only makes people embarassed. Nice text by the way. (Sorry, i’ve been trying to comment for half an hour and just couldn’t think of nothing better to say, but wanted so bad to do it anyway…)

    Like

Before commenting, see the comment guidelines below.

